Harimau Malaysia capture Sportsclick Filbasket crown with finals win over KL Aseel

KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA – In the end, the national team proved their worth. 

Harimau Malaysia routed Kuala Lumpur Aseel in the final of the Sportsclick Filbasket International Championship 87-68 on Sunday night in front of a large and boisterous crowd at the MABA Stadium. 

Coached by Filipino Jeff Viernes, Harimau largely won this championship game from beyond the arc, drilling in 14 of 32 three-point attempts for an excellent 43% clip. Eight different Harimau players connected from three-point land.

Ong Wei Yong, Harimau’s starting point guard, led his team in scoring with 16 points while shooting forward Ting Chun Hong, who buried three of his four three-point attempts, had 15 points. 

Ting was also handed the tournament MVP award. The gunner averaged nineteen points a game in six tournament games, all wins. 

The Malaysian NT also played disciplined defense, allowing their opponents only three free throws for the entire game.  Incredibly, Kuala Lumpur were not awarded a charity until Maegan  Mahadevan had an and-1 attempt two minutes into the fourth quarter. He missed. 

Aseel started brightly, taking an early five point lead but a torrent of triples from Yee Tong Heng, Wan Seong Lim and Lok Seng Mak meant the nationals led 31-21 after ten minutes. 

With Yong Gan Wee’s 12 first-half points, Aseel trimmed the deficit to five, 47 to 42 at the half. 

Mei Mei Ting 8 points in the third period bloated the Harimau lead up to 17, but Aseel battled back to cut the lead to 70-58 heading into the final period. But Aseel, despite significant support from the crowd, could not make headway and succumbed to Harimau’s might in the last ten minutes. 

Yong Gan Wee led Aseel with 14 points. The burly Mahadevan, heavily double-teamed by Harimau, was largely a non-factor with just six points. 

Although none of the three Philippine teams reached the final, Pinoy ballers did not leave  empty-handed. The Pilipinas Aguilas prevailed in the bronze medal game over Malacca Basketball Club 81-72. Mac Baracael showed his pedigree with a 24-point output. 

Box Scores

First Game 

PILIPINAS AGUILAS 81: Baracael 24, Eze 12, Enguio 10, Aviso 7, Alanguilan 6, Racho 5, Khatibi 4, Cortes 4, Syhongpan 3, Mangahas 2, Bederi 2, Lao 2, 

MALACCA BASKETBALL CLUB 72: Hamilton 22, Yek 16, Quah 11, Kua 8, Phang 6, Lai 6, Lee 3, Cheah 0, Chan 0, Chua 0. 

Second Game

HARIMAU MALAYSIA 87: Ong 16, Ting 15, Mak 11, Heng 8, Wong 7, Kuek 7, Tem 6, Lim 5, Lee 4, Hiew 3, Ooi 3, 

KUALA LUMPUR ASEEL 68: Wee 14, Dee 11, W. Tan 9, Liew 9, Lim 8, Mahadevan 6, Gan 5, Soong 4, Wong 2, C. Tan 0, Thea 0, Chan 0. 

Before the games the All- Filbasket teams were announced.

First Team 

Dee Wee Yiang – KL Aseel 

Ting Chun Hong – Harimau Malaysia

Mac Baracael – Pilipinas Aguilas

Wong Yi Hou – Harimau Malaysia

DeAngelo Hamilton – Malacca Basketball Club

2nd Team 

Rizky Ari Daffa – Bumi Borneo

James Martinez – Makabayan Warriors . 

Jonathan Wong – Adroit Sports Association

Wutipong Dasom – Pegasus

Khapri Alston – Elang Pacific Caesar

(Photo courtesy of Filbasket)


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.