Lady Bulldogs sweep Lady Archers, collect seventh straight title

The fabled winning streak may have ended but the epic championship run of National University continues.

The Lady Bulldogs asserted their dominance over De La Salle University in Game 2, 76-64, to sweep the UAAP Season 85 women’s basketball Finals and collect their seventh straight title on Sunday at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

NU won the two games by a whopping 22-point average after winning 93-61 in Game 1.

The Lady Bulldogs have tied the University of the East men’s team for most consecutive championships which they recorded back in Seasons 28 to 34. The Red Warriors were co-champions with University of Santo Tomas in Season 30.

“The credit goes to all our girls. From Day 1 they committed. I’m glad each and every one of us did our share and nanalo kami,” said first-year NU head coach Aris Dimaunahan.

Ameng Torres was on fire to start the match with nine straight points to trail by just three early, 9-12, but Lady Bulldogs Tin Cayabyab, Angel Surada, and Mikka Cacho joined hands to stretch their lead to 16 at the end of the first, 27-11.

And that was all NU needed to break away and deny all the Lady Archers’ attempts to claw back in the game.

Rookie Tin Cayabyab was hailed Finals MVP after averaging 12.5 points, 5.5 rebounds, 2.5 steals, and 1.5 assists in the series including 18 points and five rebounds in the clincher.

“Isa sa hindi ko makakalimutan na nangyari this season is yung natalo kami against La Salle. Doon kami mas nagtulungan para makuha itong championship na ito. Mas naging together kami,” said Cayabyab.

It was a fitting end to Cacho and Annick Edimo Tiky’s run with the Lady Bulldogs.

Surada had 10 points and nine rebounds, while Edimo Tiky got nine points.

Meanwhile, Ameng Torres, Joehanna Arciga, Rossini Espinas, and Fina Niantcho Tchuido have played their final game for the Lady Archers.

Torres gave it all with 29 points, seven rebounds, and five assists but committed 11 turnovers.

Niantcho Tchuido produced 13 points, 22 rebounds, four assists, and three blocks.

The scores:

NU 76 — Cayabyab 18, Surada 10, Edimo Tiky 9, Clarin 8, Cacho 6, Pingol 6, Bartolo 5, Canuto 4, Fabruada 4, Villareal 4, Betanio 2, Solis 0, Barroquillo 0, Dimaunahan 0, Ico 0.

La Salle 64 — Torres 29, Niantcho Tchuido 13, Arciga 8, Sario 7, Binaohan 5, De La Paz 2, Jimenez 2, Ahmed 2.

Quarters: 27-11, 42-27, 61-40, 76-64.


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.